## RESOLUTION

## BRAZORIA COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COURT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the Citizens of Brazoria County, Texas have an absolute right to access the Courts of Brazoria County; and

WHEREAS, the population of Brazoria County, Texas has grown and continues to grow at an accelerated rate increasing from 76,294 in 1960 to well over 400,000 in 2025; and

WHEREAS, the COVID virus restrictions and the post-COVID recovery substantially contributed to the Brazoria County District Courts dockets being overcrowded and backlogged; and

WHEREAS, on or about November 12, 2024, Commissioners Court adopted a resolution requesting the creation of a new District Court effective September 1, 2025 and the creation of the second District Court effective September 1, 2026 in Brazoria County, Texas to relieve the overcrowded dockets and delays; and

WHEREAS, the Brazoria County Districts Courts have been diligently working to relieve the backlogged dockets and substantial progress has been made; and

WHEREAS, the Office of Court Administration determined and notified Brazoria County that it supported the creation of one new district court that is created by SB 2878 in the 89<sup>th</sup> Legislature; and

WHEREAS, due to the financial uncertainty that is created by proposed legislation in the 89<sup>th</sup> Legislative Session, Brazoria County agrees with the Office of Court Administration that the creation of a District Court effective September 1, 2026 is in the County's best interest.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Brazoria County Commissioners Court fully supports the recommendation of the Office of Court Administration findings and advocates the creation of one new District Court in Brazoria County effective September 1, 2026. The court shall have general civil and criminal jurisdiction similar to that established in the 149th, 239th and 412th Judicial District Courts of Brazoria County, Texas.

Approved this the 8th day of July, 2025.

Brazoria County Judge

L. M. "Matt" Sebesta, Jr.

Commissioner, Precinct 1

Jay Burridge

Commissioner, Precinct 3
Stacy L. Adams

Commissioner, Precinct 2

Ryan Cade

Commissioner, Precinct 4

David Linder