PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS, Brazoria County Library System serves as a cornerstone of knowledge and opportunity, providing essential resources, services, and programs that empower individuals to live, learn, and thrive in the 21st century; and

WHEREAS, libraries of all types play a vital role in fostering literacy, lifelong learning, and community engagement for people of all ages, backgrounds, and socioeconomic statuses; and

WHEREAS, library workers are dedicated professionals who create welcoming, inclusive spaces where knowledge is accessible to all, treating every patron with dignity, respect, and a commitment to service; and

WHEREAS, librarians and library staff connect individuals with a world of information, offering expert guidance, digital literacy training, and critical access to books, technology, and research materials in person and online; and

WHEREAS, recruiting and retaining passionate library workers is crucial to maintaining the vitality and sustainability of library services in an evolving information landscape; and

WHEREAS, recognizing the invaluable contributions of library workers is essential to appreciating the role they play in strengthening communities, advancing education, and ensuring free and open access to information; and

WHEREAS, libraries, library workers, and library advocates across the nation are joining together to celebrate National Library Workers Day to highlight the dedication and contributions of library professionals.

NOW, THEREFORE, Brazoria County Commissioners Court does hereby proclaim Tuesday, April 8, 2025, as

NATIONAL LIBRARY WORKERS DAY

in Brazoria County. We encourage all residents to recognize the efforts of library workers, take advantage of the invaluable resources offered by libraries, and express their appreciation for the essential role libraries and their staff play in enriching our communities and our nation.

APPROVED this 8th day of April, 2025.

Commissioner Precinct 1

Jay Burridge

Commissioner, Precinct 3 Stacy L. Adams

Brazoria County Judge L. M. "Matt" Sebesta, Jr.



Commissioner, Precinct 2 Ryan Cade

Commissioner, Precinct 4 David Linder