PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS, in the winter of 1835, five Masonic Brothers met in Brazoria under a giant oak tree on the General John Austin Plantation to organize the first Masonic Lodge in Texas, Holland Lodge No. 36. Dispensation was granted by Grand Master of the State of Louisiana, J. H. Holland, the lodge's namesake; and

WHEREAS, those men were John A. Wharton, Dr. James A. E. Phelps, Alexander Russel, Asa Brigham and Dr. Anson Jones. Brother J. P. Caldwell joined the first principal officers later to sign the petition and was elected Junior Warden of the lodge; and

WHEREAS, the spot was chosen because it was secluded and out of the way of cowans and eavesdroppers. It was in the little grove of wild peach that had been selected as a family burying ground for distinguished soldiers; and

WHEREAS, most of these brothers became founding fathers of Texas and led the way forming the Government of Texas. Brother Anson Jones became the first Grand Master of the Republic of Texas. Masons take good men and make them better. These great Masons of their own time continue to inspire us today and will never be forgotten; and

WHEREAS, Masons of Texas will celebrate with its own Most Worshipful Grand Master of Texas Masons, Raborn L. Reader Jr., at the Masonic Oak Park in the City of Brazoria on Sunday, May 18, 2025 at 9:00 A.M. to Honor our Texas Masonic Hero's.

NOW, THEREFORE, the Brazoria County Commissioners Court does hereby honor and congratulate

THE MASONS OF TEXAS On Their 190th Anniversary

in Brazoria County, Texas.

APPROVED this 13th day of May, 2025.

Brazoria County Judge L. M. "Matt" Sebesta, Jr.

Commissioner, Precinct 1

Jay Burridge

Commissioner, Precinct 2 Ryan Cade

Commissioner, Precinct 3 Stacy L. Adams



Commissioner, Precinct 4

David Linder